Empowering Communities, Advocating Solutions
Campaigns:

CCE PRESS CENTER

PRESS STATEMENT

For immediate release:
Wednesday, August 11, 2010
For more information contact:
Sarah Eckel, Citizens Campaign for the Environment, 202-486-9007 (mobile), seckel@citizenscampaign.org
Nadia Steinzor, EARTHWORKS - Oil & Gas Accountability Project, 315-677-4111 (mobile), nsteinzor@earthworksaction.org
Roger Downs, Sierra Club, 518-426-9144, roger.downs@sierraclub.org
Claire Sandberg, Frack Action, 347-709-3585 (mobile), c.sandberg@frackaction.com
Wes Gillingham, Catskill Mountainkeeper, 845-901-1029, wes@catskillmountainkeeper.org
Daniella Nordin, Environmental Advocates of New York, 518-462-5526 x 239, dnordin@eany.org

GROUPS CALL ON ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY TO EXTEND COMMENT PERIOD ON HYDRAULIC FRACTURING STUDY

Current Public Comment Period Set to Expire September 1, 2010—Prior to Postponed Public Hearing

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced today that the public hearing on a hydraulic fracturing study previously scheduled for Thursday, August 12, 2010 has been postponed to September 2010 for logistical reasons. Citizens and environmental organizations statewide urge the EPA to reschedule the hearings promptly and to officially extend the public comment period to ensure that all comments are fully considered.


The EPA is conducting a national investigation into the impacts of the gas industry's use of hydraulic fracturing on water. The hearings are scheduled to accept testimony on these issues. Organizations, policymakers, and residents will present testimony on problems with water contamination and human health linked to gas drilling and the need for a comprehensive, effective federal study.


In addition to holding hearings in Upstate New York, where much of the hydraulic fracturing and gas drilling is expected to occur, environmentalists and concerned citizens are calling on EPA to hold additional hearings in areas affected by hydraulic fracturing.

-###-

Citizens Campaign for the Environment (CCE) empowers communities and advocates solutions for our shared environment and public health and is supported by over 80,000 members throughout New York State and Connecticut. www.citizenscampaign.org

updated by seckel  8/11/10